New Social Media Challenge Reminds People that “Knowledge is Calling”

The_Family_O, Instagram

The nature of Social Media has given birth to the viral phenomenon that can catapult tweets, pictures, and videos to worldwide fame in a matter of hours. It’s also created the idea of Social Media Challenges. From the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge to the Mannequin Challenge, people across the world are using the power of social media to create connections that span continents, cultures, and ideals.

LordJamar, Instagram

But this week, there’s a new challenge sweeping the digital space. The idea was started by Brand Nubian hip-hop artist Lord Jamar after posting a photo of himself holding a stack of books up to his ear. The post was a play on another set of photos popping up across the web where individuals held up stacks of cash to their ear like a phone. Lord Jamar captioned his Instagram pic saying, “On my BOOK PHONE… The KNOWLEDGE is callin’!!!” He followed it up with a playful video, challenging followers to hold up their latest reads as a way to encourage others to put down their phones and pick up a book.

On my BOOK PHONE…the KNOWLEDGE is callin!!!

A post shared by Lord Jamar Allah (@lordjamar) on

Fans of Lord Jamar and Brand Nubian have quickly joined the trend, posting #bookphonechallenge along photos of themselves, their families, and even their infants holding stacks of books up to their ears. Since reading is something that everyone can share at any age, it makes it easy for individuals from all walks of life to participate. It’s also a great reminder that exploring new places and learning new things is never further than your fingertips when you have access to a good book. It’s never too late (or too early) to embark on a new adventure; look no further than your book phone because knowledge is calling!

QuanaBee, Instagram
Next Article
ADVERTISEMENT