New Social Media Challenge Reminds People that “Knowledge is Calling”

The_Family_O, Instagram

The nature of Social Media has given birth to the viral phenomenon that can catapult tweets, pictures, and videos to worldwide fame in a matter of hours. It’s also created the idea of Social Media Challenges. From the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge to the Mannequin Challenge, people across the world are using the power of social media to create connections that span continents, cultures, and ideals.

LordJamar, Instagram

But this week, there’s a new challenge sweeping the digital space. The idea was started by Brand Nubian hip-hop artist Lord Jamar after posting a photo of himself holding a stack of books up to his ear. The post was a play on another set of photos popping up across the web where individuals held up stacks of cash to their ear like a phone. Lord Jamar captioned his Instagram pic saying, “On my BOOK PHONE… The KNOWLEDGE is callin’!!!” He followed it up with a playful video, challenging followers to hold up their latest reads as a way to encourage others to put down their phones and pick up a book.

On my BOOK PHONE…the KNOWLEDGE is callin!!!

A post shared by Lord Jamar Allah (@lordjamar) on

Fans of Lord Jamar and Brand Nubian have quickly joined the trend, posting #bookphonechallenge along photos of themselves, their families, and even their infants holding stacks of books up to their ears. Since reading is something that everyone can share at any age, it makes it easy for individuals from all walks of life to participate. It’s also a great reminder that exploring new places and learning new things is never further than your fingertips when you have access to a good book. It’s never too late (or too early) to embark on a new adventure; look no further than your book phone because knowledge is calling!

QuanaBee, Instagram
Next Article
ADVERTISEMENT
  • New Kindness Curriculum is Making Waves in University of Wisconsin Study

    The University of Wisconsin-Madison’s Center for Healthy Minds has been busy this year. They’ve added one more project to the many studies they contribute to, and this one is aimed at teaching kindness to preschoolers. Called the “kindness curriculum,” the free program had children engaging in two 20-minute sessions...

    Read More
  • Eye-Witness Recounts Story of Incredible Whale Rescue

    Whale watching is a favorite pastime and a tourist attraction along nearly every coast in the world. But for enthusiasts traveling to the West Coast of the USA, the Olympic Peninsula in Washington State is a treasure trove for those looking to catch a glimpse some of the ocean’s most majestic creatures. Orcas, humpback whales,...

    Read More
  • Bus Driver Pauses Route to Help Stranded Schoolgirl Find Her Way

    Morning commutes can be drag. Whether you drive your own car, take the subway, or hop on a bus, the frequent delays and traffic jams can quickly turn a routine journey into a stop-and-go nightmare. Public transit workers are often put under incredible pressure to keep their routes on schedule to avoid disgruntled passengers. But...

    Read More
  • The Teen that’s Fighting Cyber Bullies One Hashtag at a Time

    Chase Marvil isn’t your typical millennial college student. While the sophomore at Delaware Technical Institute is a heavy consumer of social media, he’s also a force for positive change in the digital space. While he was still in high school, Chase set out to change the way that people...

    Read More
  • How One Parkour Athlete Changed the Lives of Street Kids in Manila

    Raven Cruz is serious about parkour. After just four short years of practicing the sport, he has already become a teacher at the Ninja Parkour Academy in Manila, Philippines and been recognized as a promising athlete in the parkour world. But now he’s earning recognition for another reason. One day, when Raven was training in...

    Read More
  • A Summer Camp That is Truly for Everyone

    Camp is one of the best parts of summer. There are summer camps that focus on everything from sports to theater to science and much more where kids can spend their days following their interests and making memories. But many times, kids with special needs are unable to attend summer camps because of their disabilities...

    Read More